Administrative districts in Bali. Regencies of Bali

Administratively, Bali is a province of Indonesia. Bali itself is divided into 8 regencies (districts) and 1 municipality.
Population and area of the districts
City of Denpasar
The capital of the island of Bali. More about Denpasar.
Divided into three districts: Denpasar Barat, Denpasar Timur, and Denpasar Selatan. The largest city on the island. The center of economic life.
Badung Regency (Badung)
Badung Regency is located between 8 degrees south latitude and 115 degrees east longitude. Badung Regency is divided into 6 sub-districts (kecamatan), 40 administrative villages (desa dinas and kelurahan), and 117 traditional villages (desa adat). These villages, in turn, are subdivided into 297 communities known as Dusun and 498 Banjar.
The 6 sub-districts of Badung are: Petang, Mengwi, Abiansemal, Kuta, Kuta Utara (North Kuta), Kuta Selatan (South Kuta).
The development plans for the regency are as follows:
In the northern districts of Petang and Abiansemal, priority is given to agriculture. In the central Mengwi area, agriculture and food crops are also being developed, along with local businesses. In the southern districts, the focus is on tourism, education, and commerce (Kuta, Nusa Dua, Tanjung Benoa, Bukit, Jimbaran, and Kedonganan).
The active development of tourism has become the main driver of improving the well-being of society.
The majority of the regency's residents are followers of the Hindu religion.
Buleleng Regency (Buleleng)
Buleleng consists of 9 sub-districts: Gerokgak, Seririt, Busung Biu, Banjar, Buleleng, Sukasada, Sawan, Kubutambahan, Tejakula. The regency includes 146 administrative villages and 163 traditional villages. The regency covers almost the entire northern part of Bali, and the famous Lovina resort is located here.
From October to April, a tropical climate prevails here due to the monsoons.
Agriculture is the main occupation in the region.
It is in this regency that the construction of a new airport in Bali is planned.
Gianyar Regency (Gianyar)
This regency is famous in Bali as the center of artistic culture on the island, and it's home to Ubud, the cultural capital of Bali. This regency also boasts beautiful nature, mountains, and rice fields.
Karangasem Regency (Karangasem)
Essentially, this is the entire eastern part of Bali. The regency center is the town of Amlapura. The regency is divided into 8 sub-districts: Karangasem, Manggis, Rendang, Selat, Sidemen, Abang, and Kubu, which include 71 villages.
This area features a stunning coastline with black sand. The regency has great potential for tourism development. Many diving centers are located here as well.
Well-known areas like Amed, Candidasa, and Tulamben are located in the Karangasem Regency.
Additionally, the major port of Padang Bay, from which ferries and fast boats depart to the Gili Islands, Lembongan, Nusa Penida, and the neighboring large island of Lombok, is situated here.
During the eruption of Mount Agung in Bali in 1963, this region suffered greatly, with around 1,900 casualties.
One of the most famous attractions in the region is the Besakih Temple.
Tabanan Regency (Tabanan)
A regency with its capital in the city of the same name. It includes 10 sub-regions: Selemadeg, East Selemadeg, West Selemadeg, Kerambitan, Tabanan, Kediri, Marga, Baturiti, Penebel, Pupuan.
Agriculture is also a crucial occupation in the regency. The government closely monitors development to protect it from harm.
The famous Tanah Lot Temple is located in this regency.
Klungkung Regency (Klungkung)
The capital is in the city of Semarapura. Divided into sub-districts: Banjarankan, Klungkung, Dawan, Nusa Penida.
This region is known for its artists, mostly painting Balinese themes. The Semarajaya Museum is located here.
Around 60 percent of the regency consists of the Nusa Lembongan, Nusa Ceningan, and Nusa Penida islands.
Bangli Regency (Bangli)
Divided into 4 districts: Susut, Bangli, Tembuku, Kintamani. The capital is located in the city of Bangli.
Jembrana Regency (Jembrana)
Located in the westernmost part of the island. The main port for supplying Bali with essential goods from Java is located here. The capital is in the city of Negara.
Divided into sub-regions: Melaya, Negara, Jembrana, Mendoyo, Pekutatan.
Messages will appear here soon.
You can add one right now!